The Great Ozzie Road Trip – how it all began…..

15 Apr

“It all began on an uneventful day” as Dylan said…well no that’s not strictly true..it was actually on a hot day up a rock face in the Grampians…

I was there with Andy, Leo and Maggie some guys I’d met a few days beforehand through the couch surfing website.  Maggie had posted an ad looking for mates to do a road trip with.  Andy, Leo and I answered the ad, we rented a car together, Andy provided the tents and camping stuff, I did the food shopping and off we went….

We were on day 2 of our trip having driven along the Great Ocean Road on day 1 and wild camped in a clearing.

We were running late that day as we’d underestimated the driving time and not made allowance for dirt roads (novice road trippers) and were trying to fit in a hike before night fall.

Wendy and Elvi were descending.

We chatted for a few minutes.  Elvi told me later that she thought I was faking my Scottish accent.  Really..if I was to fake an accent would I pick a Glasgow one??? Come on!  I said to the girls that they should come to our “camp” later to share the 4 bottles of wine Andy had insisted we buy.   We met up later at camp following our bush showers.  Andy made a fire even chopping logs with an axe.  We watched the kangaroos.  I was secretly envious of the camper van which Elvi had hired…a Wicked van painted with U2 caricatures.  Little did I know then that this van would become my home for around a month of my time in Australia.  And little did I know that I would spend my nights gazing at the graffiti inside “quand on veut on peut” (“when we want we can”) and “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for”.

The next day we got up early to fit in a hike before heading back to Melbourne.  We laughed some more with the girls up on the rocks.

I agreed to meet up with them in Adelaide since we were all headed in the same direction.  We exchanged numbers and then we went our separate ways….wind forward one week and there I was standing outside the Service Station in Erldundo, in the stifling heat waiting to see those guys from U2 again…Elvi had sent me an email to say they would be there between 1 and 4…I’d hopped on the train from Adelaide to Alice and then got a bus to Erldundo while the girls had driven the 1512 km there (wow!).  Of course, as always, there was no mobile coverage so I was hoping I wouldn’t have to shell out for a night at Erldundo before heading on to Uluru.  Then I saw them cooking some eggs and stuff at the back of the van.  I ran over, we hugged, the adventure began….

One Response to “The Great Ozzie Road Trip – how it all began…..”

  1. Gus and Eileen Paterson April 15, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Brilliant as usual, you make it as if we are there with you, the photo’s are good, they look nice people to join up with, you certainly have met a really nice bunch of guy’s we look forward to your blog on your visit to Bali, take care Angie,lots of love from Eileen and Gus xx

Leave a Reply

