“What time is the first bus out of here?”

17 Jul

I have this feeling each time that I arrive in a big city that I’m not going to like it….it’s usually because I’ve either come from a much smaller place or from the mountains or the sea and I suddenly feel a bit hemmed in by the big buildings, the traffic noise seems amplified (it’s not crickets and proboscis monkeys but car horns) and there are so many people….

It was not any different when I arrived in KL.  And to make things worse I came in at 3 am without having booked a hostel…a mate had drawn me a little map…you get to the big gate at chinatown, there is a McDonalds, you pass it and then there is 7 Eleven and the hostel is just down a little side street.

Sounded easy….

At 3am after a couple of buses and a flight though it all looks so different.

I couldn’t find the gate.  I did find a McDonalds and a 7 Eleven but not the right ones….there are too many of these things in KL.

I wandered around checking out hostels with my huge pack and with the sympathetic eyes of the hostel owners on me.  Many of the places were full. Arsenal were playing Malaysia and lots of folks had reserved rooms they said.

Eventually around 4am I settled on a place which offered me a private room for 38 ringit a night.  It was a good deal. In the heart of Chinatown. Own space. A fan. Electricity points that worked.  I was,of course, worrying about the expense. Until I did a reality check. This is 2011. I was in the huge city of KL. In the heart of the vibrant Chinatown with my own space for about 7 quid a night….

The next morning I awoke bleary eyed and did what I often do when I arrive in the city from the country. I went to reception and asked the time of the first bus out.  They said I could get a bus to Malacca at any point.  The receptionist kindly suggested that wouldn’t it be better to have a day or 2 to rest and see the city.

I pondered.

His colleague from the travel office arrived at this point and suggested that he show me a little of Chinatown and we grab some breakfast.

Off we went through the myraid of little streets, through stalls selling genuine copy “Gucci bags, watches” genuine copy “Nike trainers”. We passed stalls roasting chestnuts, were offered “cupping”, reflexology, massage…we eventually settled on a little restaurant decorated with cherry blossoms, had a delicious breakfast of rice porridge, pork and veggies, chatted to some guys who were over in KL for work and were envious of the time I had to see the city….

And guess what…..I started to like KL.  After all isn’t a city just a number of little “towns” joined up…isn’t there magic even in a place of 1.5 million people….and shouldn’t I just breathe and soak it up….I’ve now been here for about 5 days. Each day I think I should head on a bus out of here but then one of the other “little towns” sucks me in.   It’s a good lesson to myself to breathe, relax and not to take the first bus out…

9 Responses to ““What time is the first bus out of here?””

  1. Tyson Trepidations. July 17, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    I’m really jealous haha it’s my dream to go there, but next summer I will! I think it is best though to just take time to relax and really soak in everything around you and explore. I don’t like moving fast and “catching the first bus” because it seems like everything is rushed and almost makes it stressful to me… But sounds like an amazing time 🙂
    Ty.

    • angiemain July 17, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      Yeah it is a cool place. I never seem to be able to rush travelling as my philosophy is if I rush too much I miss out on living the place, getting to know some folks and hanging out a bit…here it has been nice to read the local paper…you really get a feel for what are the important issues, eat the local food and have a few beers in a local chinese run bar where each day the same people sit in the same seats! Each time I’ve rushed for the first bus I’ve regretted it so now I don’t rush for the first bus…as there is always another one coming along. Hope you make it here next year…and how was the harry potter movie?

      • Tyson Trepidations. July 17, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

        Awesome! 🙂 I’ll have to keep that in mind then.
        Harry Potter was wicked! I was very happy happy with it, but kinda sad at the same time because there aren’t any more…

  2. Juliet July 17, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Looks amazing, Angie. I cannot believe how much you have seen and experenced. Stay well and stay safe. xx

    • angiemain July 17, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      Hello J! and how are things with u? yeah it’s cool. am learning a lot about other places and good to be in a big city where can catch up with the news and lead a modern life if only for a few days! how are the pets? angex

  3. Kirsty July 17, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    I’m with you on this one Angie, me and Sarah usually hated big cities, but there is something about KL, we ended up going there twice! Your photos are brilliant, looks like your having loads of fun xx

    • angiemain July 17, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      Hello what date u head to indo? I like it here. good combination of modern architecture but with lots of interesting little places to go to as well! made some friends here as well from music festivalwas at so been great to hang out with them! got to leave soon though or might be here forever! x

  4. Julie July 18, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Thank Buddha you’re writing again! Loved this post – you’re right – didn’t you feel this way about nz? And then OZ? Love takes time…

    • angiemain July 18, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      I just got my writing mojo back! How did it happen! I feel the same no matter what country. At first I just panic and think oh I don’t ike this and then give it time and hey presto I love it! Tried durian tonight. Can u believe that I liked it???!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

