Happy to see a Scot

23 Nov

I’m pretty much always happy to see a Scot when I’m travelling. I don’t see so many and the homely accent, shared culture and common sense of humour always make me happy when I do.

So when in Phnom Penh yesterday I broke a tooth during lunch and the dentist was a Scot it really  put my mind at ease.  I remember reading somewhere that many call centres like to employ Scots as the accent is one of the most trusted in the world. That, and a good old European dental training made me put my faith in the Scottish dentist.

For while the streets of Phnom Penh are full of huge illuminated teeth….advertising dentists, I was rather dismayed to hear that these guys need no qualifications at all to set up and practise…unbelievable and true! It was only a new filling I needed but still…

As I lay with my mouth open getting my tooth repaired and talking, slowly, of the life in Glasgow compared to that in Phnom Penh I was glad I’d put my faith in the hands of a Scot.

He even gave me some dental travel advice…always use a fluoride toothpaste…so out went the mud tasting and mud looking lotus toothpaste and back in came good, old Colgate, out went the Coca Cola, the coffee with condensed milk, the delicious Cambodian banana dessert with coconut milk and a mountain of sugar and the smoothies (more sugar than fruit I suspect).  In came black coffee, water, dental floss and mouthwash.

I asked about brushing trends and found that my up and down movement was rather old-fashioned having been replaced by the new circular brushing style.

It did cost me a fair bit more than the Cambodian dentist with the illuminated tooth and I do usually like to support the locals if I can but this expense was one I couldn’t save….

My conclusion….for teeth and hair much better to trust a Scot…..

4 Responses to “Happy to see a Scot”

  1. Gus and Eileen Paterson November 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Good for you Angie to find a Scot in Cambodia is really good. I just don’t like the dentist -any dentist!! I have always had a real fear of them, silly at my age, I have always taken out my own teeth, when they go slack I sloosh them with whisky that numbs them and I work them with my tongue until they just pop out, painless…………. and the whisky is of course lovely. I must like it as I have now only 3 teeth left. I even go to a dental technician who makes me dentures and has just added teeth as and when I require them. We are glad you are still enjoying your travels, that is brilliant, are your journeys about an end yet? That is Cairnhill Road opened up again today for the first time since Jun 23rd, it makes such a difference, for the past 2 weeks Cairndyke Crescent too was closed at the Cairnhill Road end, just hope after all that time the flooding problem is over, some how I just don’t have any faith in what has been done. We have been enjoying about 2 weeks without rain during the day and it has not been as cold as a normal November. I spoke to your mum yesterday, she was weeding the garden at the old house and looked well and looked as if she was enjoying the work. We hope you are well, take care, lots of love from Eileen and Gus xx

    • angiemain November 24, 2011 at 12:34 am #

      Hello it is scary that they can act as dentists with no qualifications! imagine that happening at home ! glad that you’ve been enjoying the nice weather! my friend is over visiting me just now from glasgow which is very nice. cambodia is hot. hot. hot. great promenade though for walking at night…everyone wandering, playing football and stuff. great atmosphere. take care angex

  2. Lucile November 23, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    trop drôle cette histoire de dentiste!!

    bises
    Lucile

    • angiemain November 24, 2011 at 12:32 am #

      c’est incroyable!!!!!! en france ca ne peut pas exister!!!! ca me fait peur! je voudrais garder mes dents! ca va la famille? vous me manques trop. angexxx

Leave a Reply

