Staying another day in Dalat

6 Dec

I got myself all ready to leave Dalat today.  I packed my rucksack, unplugged my laptop and paid up my hotel bill (including the tea flask I dropped yesterday…oops).  I got to Reception and asked about the bus to Hoi An.  The lady only spoke a little English and my Vietnamese is not too good. I can see the words but saying them is really hard.  Eventually we understood each other…no bus to Hoi An today…so I pondered…and then decided why not just spend another day in Dalat. I’ve picked up a bit of a cold and it might be nice to just relax in the cool air of Dalat.

I took myself off to the local market for breakfast.  I ate some delicious noodle soup with duck, some Vietnamese coffee, and a nice little dessert thing with sweet potatoes and Dalat yoghurt..mmmmmm….

I was sitting reading my Lonely Planet when one of the stall owners came to chat to me.  Before I knew it we were having a fascinating discussion about human rights in Vietnam, I learned about the recent protests in the country, about some activists who have been put behind bars and about freedom of speech in the country.

I shared some images of my city, the beautiful Edinburgh and we chatted about the differences in culture between our respective countries.  I showed him a video of me playing my charango in Bolivia.  He laughed. His wife laughed. A few other stall owners laughed.

I met another Vietnamese couple on their honeymoon in Dalat who showed me photos of their wedding and invited me to drink coffee with them this evening. I also got a chance to practise my Vietnamese.  I have to say I’m finding this language very hard. It’s just that the locals use their mouth differently when they say the words..but even to learn “hello” “thank you” and “what is your name” is fun…

All in all I’m glad to be spending another day in Dalat.

7 Responses to “Staying another day in Dalat”

  1. jakesprinter December 6, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Nice Story , nice post 🙂

    • angiemain December 6, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      Thank you! The joy of travel it has to be the wonderful people who open the mind to new things!

  2. Kate December 6, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    It’s so great when someone completely unexpected strikes up a conversation! Enjoy your extra day in Dalat.

    • angiemain December 6, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      I know. That is what I love about travelling!

  3. 1cruzdelsur December 6, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Muy bueno tu relato Angie…
    I give you a music for your trip, Santaolalla is a great Argentine musician.
    C.

Leave a Reply

